I think it’s funny that I’m doing this…

I’m not sure where to start – and or why I’m sitting here coffee in hand writing my first blog today. But I think it’s time 🙂

For those of you who know me, you know I rarely take time out to do anything for me. For those of you who don’t know me – don’t care about that really. I’m a mom, a wife, a sister to many, a daughter, yoga teacher, business manager, executive, musician, artist and an athlete… So where’s the time?

Things have gotten a little crazy this past year, pneumonia, pseudo broken back, hip/leg issues.. I lost a friend to cancer, a friend found out she had cancer, my friend(s) had babies and my friend lost a baby you name it – it was kinda funny – in a not so laughable kind of way. But it put life into perspective for me as MY life seemed perfect. But because I wasn’t paying attention, I didn’t realize it wasn’t.

That’s the thing about life – and it’s one of the things that my yoga mat has taught me. To stop, and pay attention – but some where along the way this year I paid MORE attention to the things outside of me – or I should say – outside of MY life than I did to the things inside my life. Why? It was easier that way.

So to steal from my friend I’ll say it “shit just got real” and that is life. That is yoga, that is me – it’s you, it’s all of us. For those of us who try to pretend it’s all easy – we should stop. But we also shouldn’t let it cripple us. It’s not the end, it’s only the beginning. During my morning perusal of Facebook (insert wasting time while waiting for my coffee) to see what fun things are going on in the “yoga world” A friend posted this:

“For what it’s worth… it’s never too late, or in my case too early, to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit. Start whenever you want. You can change or stay the same. There are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people who have a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”

~ Eric Roth, from the screenplay “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” – adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s original short story ~

So, I suppose it’s not so funny I’m dong this after all… 🙂

Namaste ya’ll… M.

One thought on “I think it’s funny that I’m doing this…

Leave a Reply

